Testimonials | janebutelcooking.com

Jane Butel Testimonials

From apricots to zucchini and everything in between, Jane Butel’s recipes are simply the best. I learned more proper techniques and execution and organization for preparing food in a weekend class this month than in a lifetime of just cooking. Her life stories are as interesting and delicious as the food we prepared. Indulge yourself. Take Jane’s class!

Suzi Darensburg
November 15, 2015

Let me just say thanks for your wonderful ground chile powders, which have served me well over many a year.

For your amusement, I've attached my own Texas-style recipe, customized so that even novice chili makers can make it without too much bother. I've sent it around to many friends over the years - and, as you'll see, I always credit you.

Steve Elman
February 17, 2021

Jane, Thanks. Judy and I enjoyed the Oaxaca tour. We thought it was well organized, with a nice mix of cooking and touring. And of course, Oaxaca is a great place to visit. We also enjoyed getting to know you.

Phil Krehbiel
Oxaca Culinary Tour
March 2019

I just pulled my worn and stained, 40-year-old copy of Chili Madness off the shelf to make another big pot for friends. One of the best cookbook ever. I guess in 1980 nobody thought what "strictly American" meant in the old picture.

Tom Crumm
Praise for Chili Madness cookbook
October, 2013

Jane Butel Cooking School is one of the best cooking schools to attend. She has many interesting stories and information about the foods she is teaching you to make . I took the 3-day weekend class and had the best time and had the pleasure of meeting new people. The food was fabulous. I learned some new techniques for cooking . Looking forward to cooking with Jane in the near future. If you are thinking of a class do not hesitate, it will be the best decision you will make.

Kimberly Wortman 
February 2020 weekend class

Ms. Butel: Thank you for fixing my order. You have the best chili powder and I have been ordering it for a while. One day – when my children are out of college – I plan to attend your cooking school. With a name like Alfred Joseph Pasini you would never know my grandfather was Mexican – Jose Conception Gomez-Gullien - born on the Immaculate Conception. From Ocotlan south of Guadalajara near Lake Chapala which has the largest expatriate American population in Mexico. A Paradise location. Hope to retire there someday. He was a coal miner and got killed in a cave in. However, we always cooked Mexican food and still do today. We always used Paprika for our enchilada base as I suppose back in those days they did not have access to chili powder.


Alfred Pasini
October 28, 2014

I just finished a fabulous weekend class with Jane! Wow, what an experience! Jane is so great to share history, flavors, techniques, stories, knowledge and healthy & tasty recipes. I highly recommend to anyone interested in true southwest cuisine!

Anne Pierce
August 12, 2018 

Hi Jane,
Thank you for such a great cooking experience! You shared history, experience, talent and so many wonderful recipes with us.
I have already been to the local Mexican market to make sure I have everything in place to practice your helpful hints.
Last night I made my first meal and Rich couldn’t stop eating. He wanted more, more, & more!
I appreciate all your expertise and thank you again for all you do.
Warm Regards,
Christie

Christie Wingert
Sept. 13-15, 2013 class

 "I just finished a week long class with Jane. It was fun, informative and generally a great time. Jane is a wealth of information and has the patience of a saint. If you are interested in learning about south western cooking, this is the class for you!"

Deb Broderson Howser 
March 15 – 19, 2021

Hi Jane,
I just wanted to write and thank you again for a fantastic program. Our library patrons that attended have been raving about it!

Jenna Wells
Aug 26, 2019

Hi Jane,

I really appreciate your checking in with me. You are my Rock-Star in this world.
At some time I will introduce you to my nephew who many years ago tasted his first "real" Chili made with your Chili starter kit. It was a hit with the whole family, but little Roy who was somewhere between 4- and 5-years old tore into this first bowl and I used everything in the kit, and it was really spicey and he loved it! He became a very good cook, but his wife and my brother say he won't cook hardly anything that isn't something like Tex-Mex. So, you started it all.....
thanks,
I will sign-up for your next course when it's available.
Ken

Kenneth G. Sexton
Nov 11, 2020



Kenneth G Sexton
Wed, Nov 11, 2020,
March 21, 2021

I just wanted to drop by and say thanks.
In Fact, a BIG THANKS !

Born 1971, I always loved hot Spices, even as a Kid.

In 2006, I visited Ben´s Chili Bowl in Washington DC.
It was the first time I grasped what Chili means in the US, and what Chili can mean to People everywhere.

I started cooking better Chili.

In 2008 I purchased your "Chili Madness" Book, which opened up a whole new Universe of cooking Chili.

Last Year I started a Blog and a Facebook site and made my Dream come true to sell some real good Chili to the People and spread the Chili Spirit even more : I organized the first Chili Cook off in Hamburg for Charity.

In two weeks I will be selling a "Chips n Chili Bowl" at a Chili and Barbecue Festival in Hannover; Chili is getting more and more of a Trend besides a Niche here in Germany ; think about publishing your Book translated here :-)

If you like, please check out schueringschili.com and tell me how you like my Logo and take a Look at Schürings Chili on Facebook.

Without your "Chili Madness" this all would have not happened in that particular way.

Thanks and Love to you

Klaus Schüring
Schürings Chili
Hamburg / Germany

Took weekend class this past weekend and had a great time. Learned a lot (Jane is a wealth of information about culinary science) and got some great recipes along with the experience in making them. Would recommend the class to anyone interested in Southwest Cuisine.

Kristine Harriger 
November 17, 2015 

I signed up for the New Mexican Tex-Mex Cookery class because for years I have wanted to learn to make Mexican food. I lived in rural Japan for seventeen years and if I didn’t haul the ingredients home for Tex-Mex food in my suitcase they were unavailable. My husband promised me, at least eight years ago; that when we returned to the USA that I could attend one of Jane’s classes. We returned to the States in April and I enrolled in the first week long class that was available.

I have learned so many things at the class! I think we were taught at least 30 new recipes at the class. However; we learned more than just how to prepare a recipe. Jane taught us the history of the foods we cooked, for example; how important corn was to the native Americans, the religious aspects of corn, how politics influenced the food, how the influx of the Spanish and French in Mexico and the Southwest changed the cuisine. We learned that each Pueblo has their own type of blue corn and ways of preparing it. I found the historical aspects of the lessons fascinating.

I have attended many cooking classes, but this class was different; first of all because of Jane’s passion for preserving the history and cultural aspects of the recipes. Second, we were so absorbed in the class that we seemed to run over the scheduled finish time by an hour or two every day and Jane really didn’t mind. She wanted us to learn something that she was passionate about. The sharing of this cuisine seemed much more important to her than sticking to the schedule – it seemed as if we were a group of friends cooking for pleasure - rather than a class.

I hope to use the recipes I learned quite often. I stocked up on spices, bought a few more cookbooks and plan to go the Mexican grocery store this week and buy some tools I need. I was thrilled with the variety and depth of southwest cooking! When I returned home last night back to Utah and unloaded my stock of spices, the whole kitchen smelled marvelous and my husband said he could not wait to taste my food!

Linda Reinherz
August, 2014

Hi Jane!

I thought you’d enjoy knowing that my husband, Joe, was the first of us to make a recipe from your cookbook. We had huevos rancheros for breakfast this morning Joe backpacked about 12 miles a day for the past 3 days, so he was ready for a big breakfast! It was delicious, of course.

I so enjoyed your class last week, mostly because I so enjoyed you (though the food was also fabulous)! You have such an astonishing set of skills - you’re very gracious and warm; you know how to keep things moving while maintaining a fun, casual atmosphere; you’re clearly a culinary artist, but also an astute, competent businesswoman; you’ve had at least 5 lives worth of fascinating experiences and you tell your stories beautifully; and you teach well - you allow your students room to make our own mistakes, but also offer plenty of support and instruction.

I just don’t know how you managed to roll all of those skills into one charming person!

It was truly a pleasure to get to know you, and I do hope we stay in touch.

God bless you,

Lisa Glass
March 21, 2021

Jane, thank you so much for sharing your expertise and your Southwest hospitality. We had a wonderful time together and hope to come again!

Pamela McSorley

Let me just say thanks for your wonderful ground chile powders, which have served me well over many a year.
Stay well and keep cooking

Steve Elman
March 12, 2021

Jane Butel Cooking School is one of the best cooking schools to attend. She has many interesting stories and information about the foods she is teaching you to make . I took the 3 day weekend class and had the best time and had the pleasure of meeting new people. The food was fabulous. I learned some new techniques for cooking . Looking forward to cooking with Jane in the near future. If you are thinking of a class do not hesitate, it will be the best decision you will make.

Hi Jane,
We all so enjoyed our wonderful culinary class last night!  You were so informative & interesting!  Thank you for providing us with such a lovely authentic southwestern experience!
Best, Judie 

Jane,

Wow!!! Thank you for SO many things this past weekend! We all had such a great time in your home and learned things I wish I would have learned 40 years ago! I am going to buy me a large comal like yours, and the cast iron tortilla maker. Saw them on Amazon for a pretty good price. I also bought your Tex Mex cookbook online and it is on its way.

Thank you for giving us so much of yourself freely....you are truly a fountain of good information. Wish I lived closer..You have the true gift of hospitality which more people need to develop in their lives.

Jane, you are such a lovely, generous lady on the inside and outside. We are so thankful that our paths crossed.

Love you and appreciate you sweet lady!

Veni and Darrell Hardy

News And Events Title for Left

Go to Cooking School

NEW ONLINE VIDEO CLASS! - Tamale Rolling

 Weekend Classes-

July 16 -18, 2021

August 20 - 22, 2021

 For more information and to sign up, click on the specific dates you are interested in.

Oaxaca Culinary Week Long Tour, planned for  June 15-21,2021

Week Long Class

October 25 -29. 2021

Day classes
May 6, 2021, 5 PM, Perfect Pies

June 3,  2021Paella Dinner Party

July 8, 2021, Chocolate and Chile,Perfect Culinary companions

 

Where Women Cook

 

Order my  cookbooks from any of the 3 sources and really help our rating! Tex-Mex cook book cover

Or, order from us if you would like an autographed copy for you or for any persons on your gift list. 

And we will drop ship each book if you like.

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Indiebound 

Revisesd, 2nd edition of "Jane Butel's Southwestern Kitchen" was published October 4, 2016.

Southwestern Kitchen book cover 2016

Jane Butel's newest cookbook, "Simply Southwestern"  was published November 22, 2016.

ORDER NOW

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Simply Southwest book cover

 

Hotter Than Hell was re-published and completely re-edited and released in March, 2017.  If you would like a personally autographed cookbook, order from us NOW

If you would like a personally autographed copy  of the newly released and re-edited  Barbecue cookbook, order from us NOW! 

 

 

 

 Blog Updates  Blogs released regularly.

Recent video recipe:

POSOLE on You TubePosole

 What do you want to see featured on our new blog?

Email us to make suggestions about post features!

Blog link: Southwest Cooking with Jane Butel

ALL NATURAL SOUTHWESTERN AND MEXICAN INGREDIENTS AVAILABLE

Our wonderful pure, fresh chiles, spices, ingredients and kitchen essentials are in bountiful supply. Order, by selecting the Products key at the top of this page, or click here.

Best of Mexican Regional Recipes

The complete book of all the Mexican regional recipes taught in the award winning Fairmont-Princess Cooking School in Scottsdale. Has such favorites as Rellenos en Nogado, Pollo Cauchate, Mayan Chilaquiles and the luscious Tres Leches. cake. Ebook $2.99.

Softbound Printed Edition
$12.95


NOW ON KINDLE FIRE
for $2.99

Click here to buy now

Click here to see a preview of the book

 

© Copyright 2011 - 2021 All Rights Reserved. TEX MEX Inc. Privacy Policy.

Jane Butel Cooking School • Pecos Valley Spice Co. • Corrales, NM 87048  • Office: 505-243-2622  • info@janebutelcooking.com | Jane Butel Home Page

To ensure delivery of emails from my website please whitelist: info@janebutelcooking.com

Sign Up for Jane's FREE 10 Favorite Recipes eBook!
Tex-Mex, Inc. BBB Business Review